18 December 2017

Local Teams

NCAA logo  



WCC-Logo-2017-Final small

WichitaThunder small 2016



 NBC Horizontal Logo




FC Wichita Logo



(Click for tournament info)


Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission

2018 Midwestern/Pacific Coast Synchronized Skating Sectional Championships
January 24-28, 2018



2018 NCAA Men's Basketball 1st/2nd Rounds
March 15 & 17, 2018




Welcome to the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission

We have compiled a listing of sporting events, attractions, tournaments and facility information which we hope you will find helpful and beneficial.

2013 Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com




June 27, 2013

2013BenchAward small

Stuart Turner, Ole Miss and Johnny Bench



June 4, 2013- The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission has announced the three finalists for the 2013 Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com:


• Zane Evans, Georgia Tech
• Mitchell Garver, New Mexico
• Stuart Turner,Ole Miss

A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 16th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27, 2013.


The Johnny Bench Award is given annually to honor the most deserving DI catcher that was nominated by their school in a given season. Catcher's nominated should be the starting catcher in 70% of their team's games. It is not a measure of future MLB success.


2013 Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com
Complete Watch List

  • Blake Austin  JR Auburn University   
  • Brett Austin  SO North Carolina State University
  • Tyler Baker  SO Wichita State University  
  • Caleb Barker  JR University of Houston
  • Corey Bass   SR  University of North Florida
  • Dan Bethea  SR St. John's University   
  • Brett Booth  SR University of Alabama
  • John Bormann  SO University of Texas at San Antonio   
  • Austin Bossart  SO University of Pennsylvania
  • Garrett Boulware  SO  Clemson University
  • Ryan Breen  SR University of Central Florida   
  • Jack Cleary  SR University of Maryland
  • Garrett Custons  SR Air Force Academy   
  • Mike Danaher  SR Binghamton University
  • Blair DeBord  JR Kansas State University   
  • Michael DeLucia  SR Campbell University
  • Brian Dixon  JR University of New Orleans   
  • Kaiana Eldredge  JR University of Kansas
  • Zane Evans  JR Georgia Tech   
  • Drew Farber  JR UNC Wilmington
  • Jacob Felts  JR University of Texas   
  • Alan Filauro  SR West Virginia University
  • Chase Fowler  SR University of Southern Mississippi
  • Aramis Garcia  SO Florida International University   
  • Mitchell Garver  SR University of New Mexico
  • Kyle Gibson  JR University of Louisville   
  • Richard Gonzalez SO Alabama State University
  • Grayson Greiner  SO University of South Carolina   
  • Radley Haddad  SR Butler University
  • Sean Hagen  JR Eastern Kentucky University
  • John Harris  SR Gardner Webb  
  •  Dillon Haupt  SR University of San Diego
  • Nate Irving  SO University of Virgina  
  • Blake Johnson  SR Arkansas-Little Rock
  • Jose Longoria  SR Grambling State University   
  • Adam Martin  JR Western Carolina University
  • Stephen McGee  JR Florida State University   
  • Jeff Melillo  SR Rutgers University
  • James Miglin  JR University of Toledo   
  • Riley Moore  SO University of Arizona
  • Jackson Morrow  JR UC Santa Barbara   
  • Spencer Navin  JR Vanderbilt University
  • Grant Nelson  SR Saint Louis University   
  • Brian O'Keefe  SO Saint Joseph's University
  • Ramon Ortega  SR Manhattan College   
  • Matt Paré  SR Boston College
  • Andrew Parker  SR Towson University   
  • Jordan Parris  JR Tennessee Tech University
  • Max Pentecost  SO Kennesaw State University   
  • Colton Plaia  SR Loyola Marymount University
  • Matt Reistetter  JR Hofstra University   
  • Jake Rodriguez  JR Oregon State University
  • Jake Romanski  SR San Diego State University   
  • Victor Romero  SR Oklahoma State University
  • Mike Rosenfeld  JR Duke University   
  • Tyler Ross  JR Louisiana State University
  • Tanner Rust  JR New Mexico State University   
  • Scott Sarratt  SR Georgia State University
  • Brandon Schott  SR University of Maryland Eastern Shore   
  • Kyle Schwarber  SO Indiana University
  • Ronnie Shaeffer  SR UC Irvine   
  • Adam Sonabend  JR Eastern Michigan University
  • Elvin Soto  SO University of Pittsburgh   
  • Josh Spano  SO High Point University
  • Michael Spano  SR Florida Atlantic University   
  • Andrew Stumph  SR Texas State University
  • Alex Swim  SR Elon University   
  • P.J. Torres  JR Austin Peay State University
  • Stuart Turner  JR University of Mississippi   
  • Luke Voit  SR Missouri State University
  • Travis Watkins  FR East Carolina University   
  • Trey Wimmer  SR Liberty University
  • Matt Winn  SO Virginia Military Institute   
  • Jake Wise  JR University of Arkansas
  • Mack Zagunis  SO Virginia Tech   
  • Shane Zeile  SO University of California at Los Angeles


Because the award is given annually to the top division one collegiate catcher, the list will be updated to include other candidates until May 6, 2013.

The watch list will be narrowed down to the semifinalists, whom will be announced May 16, 2013. Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 4, 2013. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 16th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27, 2013.



VisitWichitasmall iba horizontal 4c BBS-Stack-RGB5 benchwebsite parkcity Hartman Arena Logo